Greetings from “Tara-dise”!

Mt TaranakiBlue TasmanSeastacks and river mouthlushIPA tasterThe Mountain!
Surf shackStent Road BeachSurferGullWeld Rd BeachBeach Stones
Lucy's GullyTall Trees and Punga FernsNew Plymouth's PartitutuGod LightSerious Self PortraitBack Beach looking east
Paritutu Reflection at Back Beach 1Back Beach looking westParitutu Reflection at Back Beach 2Paritutu Reflection at Back Beach 3Starfish!Starfish 2

I’m way behind on updating photos from my travels, and even further behind updating this blog. So I thought I would post a little teaser from my current solo leg of the journey.

I’ve spent the last two days in Taranaki. My good friend and previous coworker Al Boys is from here and insisted I must make it here. Katy and I got rained out earier in the week so I’m back here on my own exploring this amazing wonderland of a place!

It was well worth the trip! Lush rainforest, empty surf beaches… green green green… and a stoic (if a bit ominous) Mt Taranaki standing watch over it all. It’s a pretty magical place… sort of like the Pacific Northwest, only empty. I like the empty. I’ll miss the emptiness of New Zealand most of all.

Leave a comment