No good at goodbyes

I’m no good at saying goodbye.  I feel its best to do it like a band aid.  Just rip it off and be done with it.  So unfortunately, the way in which I’ve scheduled my final time here has been a bit hard.  The staging of the trip as made it a series of goodbyes…

Goodbye Gimley

Goodbye Konini Street

Goodbye Work

Goodbye Banks Pennisula

And individual goodbyes to all my christchurch friends.

Then this morning I said goodbye to christchurch.  I wish I could say I shed a tear, but I didn’t.  I was sad for sure, and as the plane flew over hagley park I could see my buildings at the Arts Centre, the empty lots of the red zone and I knew that the work there would continue without me.  The whole flight up to wellington I was looking down on roads I’ve traveled, beaches I’ve walked and saying goodbye.

The hard part of these end travels is that they are making my goodbye to new zealand a long drawn out goodbye.  Like a breakup that just won’t happen.  I want to relish my time here, but at the same time it is hard to be saying goodbye to this place I know so well. Aotearoa will always be in my heart.

Luckily there are only two goodbyes left.  After my travels next week, I will have to say a final goodbye to the South Island and then, on March 15th, I will say Goodbye New Zealand.

 

Leave a comment